New Mantra: I’ve jumped out of a plane!

Two days ago I went skydiving. Yes, this girl, havoced with stress, anxiety, fear, etc, jumped out of a friggin plane!

I’ve had a spectacular past week with my anxiety and myself. But, unfortunately, this spectacularity coincides with a week off of work. This could only mean two things to me right now: either I need to find a new job or I’m not out of the woods yet. 

I had a therapy session yesterday and literally only had positive things to report. I was on such a happy high, I couldn’t even bring myself to blog very much because I was doing so well on my own. I’ve been able to self reflect so much over the last week. I actually took care of myself: I made four different spa appointments, had five play dates with my friends, went out to a karaoke bar and an 80s day club, saw three stand up comedians perform, baked a loaf of bread, AND went friggin skydiving!!! And a partridge in a pear tree.

P.S. I’m a big chicken, bigger than you. I will never go on a rollar coaster in my life ever again because they terrify me (all I do is squeeze my eyes closed and hold on tight to whoever is with me). I will go skydiving several times a year now until the day I die. It’s that easy and that amazing.

back to taking care of myself: putting myself first has definitely helped my level of anxiety and my stress processing abilities. I’ve even been able to practice new calming and coping strategies. But I have been able to do all of this successfully, under perfect circumstances.

Now, I just need to keep remembering that I jumped out of an effing plane under the worst circumstances.

Not to be all “I know how to help you,” but seriously. Go jump out a plane and see what it does for your triggers.

But do it with a parachute!

Leave a comment